So, I was looking for something good to watch on Netflix as I bumped upon this series and thought "hey, let's give it a try". Daybreak is a teenager show about zombie apocalypses, teenager problems, and school gangs. At first sight, it looks like a mix of Zombieland or some ordinary zombie apocalypse comedy film and Mad Max, which would usually make you think "what's special or different about it?".
Well, I have to admit that during my first watched episode I was like "why am I still watching this? It's total trash". The first moments were boring and the protagonist, Josh, definitely sucked, but with some persistence, it turned out to be an amazing show.
But what makes it such an amazing show? First of all, the characters. They are, for the most, very well-written, deep and have good development along the episodes. Despite the protagonist - the usual survivalist who creates rules in order to survive and ends up leading the others - being a mainstream asshole, we have some pretty good and well-constructed coadjuvants.
The first introduced character is a "mensa level genius with flexible morality", pyromaniac little girl. At first, she might seem light the usual crazy-badass-genius child, but as the episodes flow, we see her develop quickly into an interesting character, growing steadily throughout the series.
Second, we have a jock who's decided to live up by the samurai code. Although always seen carrying two katana's by his side, he describes himself as a pacifist, never hurting anyone - humans or ghoulies.
Then we have a Knockoff who rules the mall before the group making it there. He's selfish and all he wants is to be left alone at the mall again - so that he doesn't have to share anything. We also meet the Witch, a ghoulie that can speak almost normally and shows some sort of emotions and intelligence. And for the last, we have a dressed-in-black cannibal who eats kids.
The first introduced character is a "mensa level genius with flexible morality", pyromaniac little girl. At first, she might seem light the usual crazy-badass-genius child, but as the episodes flow, we see her develop quickly into an interesting character, growing steadily throughout the series.
Second, we have a jock who's decided to live up by the samurai code. Although always seen carrying two katana's by his side, he describes himself as a pacifist, never hurting anyone - humans or ghoulies.
Then we have a Knockoff who rules the mall before the group making it there. He's selfish and all he wants is to be left alone at the mall again - so that he doesn't have to share anything. We also meet the Witch, a ghoulie that can speak almost normally and shows some sort of emotions and intelligence. And for the last, we have a dressed-in-black cannibal who eats kids.
The second interesting thing about the show is its storytelling. We have plenty of fourth wall breakings, different kinds of narration by different characters, mysteries to solve, constant flashbacks and lots - really LOTS - of plot twists. Add some references to today's society and popular culture to the mix and we have a show that is guaranteed to keep you tuned and captive.
Comments
Post a Comment